h1

“Old Lady” Stuff

March 6, 2011

Reason #42 Why I Like Merle Norman

I know Merle Norman has an “old lady” sound to it – up there, if not beyond, Avon and Mary Kay – but I like my Merle Norman lady. I needed a nighttime moisturizer that doesn’t smell and my other “old lady” standby, Oil of Olay, apparently smells like “old lady” stuff, so I use it when Nick’s not around. So Alice and I went to visit our neighborhood Merle Norman shop (owned by the lady behind the counter). I told her what I would like and that I have a drug store brand that works in a pinch and she didn’t give me that look that says, “You use drug store brand stuff on your face?” One of the reasons I don’t like going to a counter at the mall is I assume that’s the response I will get. That and I really don’t want to buy makeup from an 18 year old who measures in at 5’5″ but with her hair and shoes looks taller than me.

Anyway, Annie said she said she’s currently out of her best moisturizer that doesn’t smell and instead of trying to sell me something else, she said to come back in whenever I’m out of what I’m using. I don’t know why but it was reassuring to not be pressured into something else.

The MAIN reason why I like my Merle Norman lady is the special treatment Alice gets every time we visit. We walked in and Alice got a new pair of shades. I must say – they are pretty fantastic.

Am I the only one that hears “I wear my sunglasses at night“?

On an unrelated topic, we started our garden today. Pictures to come.

Leave a Reply

