h1

New Hobby (Obsession)

July 20, 2009

Nick and I have been spending a lot of time in our gardens this summer (I say plural because he’s tending to the vegetable garden and I to the flowers). I walk around holding Alice while I deadhead day lilies and pull random weeds. This means that the bottom of my retaining wall is weed-free most of the time. The top half – not so much. I talk to her about what I’d like to plant and discuss how the existing plants are doing. This way I don’t feel like I’m talking to myself. I’m educating her, see!

I have started taking notes for what’s working and what’s not. I visit various websites for tips and ideas. I search through sites devoted to Hostas to locate the exact names for each variety or cultivar I have. Mom has gotten me hooked for sure! I have lists in my phone so that if I’m out and about and come across a plant store (totally by accident, of course) I have a few ideas or names of plants to look for. I usually end up buying something totally different, but whatever.

My dilemma is that our house is pretty small and we know we can’t stay there forever, so what am I to do with all my plants that I’ve grown to love? We don’t have the space inside to take seedlings or whatever – and let’s be honest, that’s a lot of work for a new mom. I suppose we’ll just have to plan on moving when I can safely dig up the ones I want to keep. I wonder if anyone will notice the giant holes? Anyhoo – I think this blog might be a good place to add pictures or thoughts about my gardening hobby. I know it’s not as exciting as Alice quips, but I think it might help keep me grounded. I’ll try to include Alice in the pictures. Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

