h1

Scotch, Football, and 3D Glasses

February 5, 2009

Sunday was a fun day for us. Nick had to work at the Dell so Alice and I dropped him off and stopped in to say hello to a few folks who hadn’t met Alice yet. I conveniently go there right when a Scotch tasting was starting. I hadn’t been to one since, well, April so I was stoked to be there at the right time. I snuck in with Alice in her car seat and told the group I hoped everyone was OK with a little underage drinking. It got a decent laugh. I tasted a couple that were nice, but realized I’d definitely forgotten a few things about tasting Scotch, and remembered how much there is to know about it. Monique, the Scotch expert from the Dell was very complimentary when she introduced me to the group. She said I had started to develop a strong palette and was missed for those long 9 months. I hope to get back to a couple more tastings and really start figuring it all out.img_1577

After the tasting, Alice and I went over to Laird and Elise’s for a little Super Bowl party. It was a riot – there were a lot of kids there. Poor Johnny K didn’t know what he’d signed up for! A 3 week old, a 5 month old, a 2 year old, a 6 year old, and a 12 year old. Not too long ago this same group would be up late drinking together and not getting up in the middle of the night to feed a baby. Things sure do change quickly.img_3415

The night was funny though. We had a few pairs of the 3D glasses to watch the commercials, but kept asking, “Is it 3D?” You’d think that with all the hype things would be a little more obvious. In some aspects, the same goes for having a baby. When I have free time I clean and reorganize and do laundry. I do the same now, I just do it faster because I have less free time. I enjoy having a beer or glass of wine in the evening, I just wait until Alice has been fed or watch the clock. Before we leave the house with Alice I have to run around the house grabbing everything we might need, so Nick does a lot of waiting for me, but he did that before Alice because I was never ready when he was anyway. Sleep is the main issue right now, but I can’t remember what nights were like before Alice and Nick had to deal with my sleep apnea so his sleep is probably much the same. So I guess having Alice is a lot like 3D commercials. The only ones that were supposed to look different did. You can wear the glasses and watch any old commercial but it won’t look any different. You can also watch the 3D stuff without the glasses and they’ll look just fine. When you have a baby, if you want things to be really different they will be. You can also live your life as close to the way you did before the baby and be just fine, too.img_1591

Leave a Reply

